Forums
This thread relates to...
GarageBand 101
Absolute Beginner's Guide
by: Vanacoro
More Info
  • Student469162
    Re: Different recording
    Now I understand what is fader head, but where is an option key I have to hold down? How it looks like?
  • Joe A
    The Option key at the bottom of your keyboard, on either side of the Spacebar..
  • Student469162
    Yes, I see, but I have there not option written, but alt and a symbol. But it's still the same.. ?
  • Joe A
    Yes, Alt is the same as Option.
  • Student469162
    You say that a recording level is a level of the incoming signal. From where the incoming signal comes? Is it only outer one ( a voice, real instruments)? What I hear on my project, if the recording level is low, or if it is high? If I change a recording level, what is changing on the project? I understand, if I change a volume, then I hear a difference. What difference I hear, if I change a recording level? Thanks!
  • Joe A
    Yes, the recording level is the level of the incoming external signal (like a real guitar or vocal/microphone). This sets the level of the recorded audio file -- it should be loud enough to display the waveform clearly, but not so loud that the incoming signal ever clips (lights up the red overload button(s) for that channel). Once the signal is recorded at that level, then of course you can change the playback level at any time with the volume slider in the track header.
  • Student469162