Ask.Video
Forums
This thread relates to...
Final Cut Pro 101
Absolute Beginner's Guide
by: iainanderson
More Info
  • Student475060
    Syncing to external audio after final edit?
    Hello! I have 8 final edits based on about 20hrs of footage broken down to 8 clips at 2 minutes. The whole audio has been recorded externally but I just got the whole project with the words "please sync it" . I didnt edit..... I thought, easy peasy use pluraleyes and here we go, but apparently it doesnt work. I can see that each camera clip has roughly a matching clip in audio, sometimes the audioclips are much longer though and many clips go for one audio. When I sync all raw videoclips with all raw audioclips it works (XML way) BUT - is there any way I can just sync the final edits so that just the right portions of the audio clips are put beneath the videoclips? OR - replace the audio in the original clips completely so it goes all the way into the final edit? I already spent about 6hrs googling and trying, I cannot find a solution! THANK YOU
  • Joe A
    Re: Syncing to external audio after final edit?
    I've linked a FCPX course to this thread, click "More Info" above to access it. And here's a link to another FCP course as well: https://www.macprovideo.com/course/final-cut-pro-205-pro-audio-techniques?afid=E470KLQ7r9 I assume you consulted the FCPX manual, but just in case I also found this page: https://support.apple.com/guide/final-cut-pro/sync-audio-and-video-verc1fabc30/mac I'm an audio guy myself so I can't help with this, but maybe anther FCPX user/guru will have a suggestion..
  • BenB
    Re: Syncing to external audio after final edit?