Forums
This thread relates to...
Final Cut Pro 101
Absolute Beginner's Guide
by: iainanderson
More Info
  • Student465429
    trim/extend multiple clips
    How to extend /trim multiple clips. Pls check my case in this screen capture : https://imgur.com/MeN3fP5 I want to make all those selected clips to have the same out point at the red playhead. So fcp should trim/extend those clips to the playhead. How can i do this ? can't find the answer anywhere. it's silly that FCP can't do this. Thanks
  • Joe A
    Re: trim/extend multiple clips
    I'm not really a FCPX guy, but I found a couple of suggestions (the first seems to be the easiest).. - Select all clips & temporarily extend their lengths (Control-D) so they all cross the desired end point; - Position the playhead and Blade them; - Select the remainders and delete them - Select all clips & temporarily extend their lengths (Control-D) so they all cross the desired end point; - Position the playhead, deselect all clips, and hit Option-] repeatedly to trim them one-by-one (the top clip should be trimmed first and then each clip below should be trimmed in turn) I don't have FCPX here to test with, but it seems like it should work. I've attached one of our FCPX courses to this thread -- if there's a more straightforward solution maybe one of our FCP gurus will chime in..
  • Student465429
    Thanks Joe, yes that what i did so far. Suppose to be a single keystroke to do all those things like in other editing app. I don't want to do trim them one by one or i don't want to blade them and delete them , this workflow is to slow for me.
  • iain-anderson